ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Cricket: Who won?

The Southern Stars. Credit: Twitter

The Southern Stars better known as the Australian women’s cricket team won the ICC World T20 for a record 4th time in West Indies. The squad led by Alyssa Healy were unstoppable through out the tournament and only lost one match and that too to India in the group stages.

There is no better T20 team in Women’s cricket than Australia. England scored just 105 after batting first in the final. The target was too easy for Australia as the girls in yellow chased it down in just about 15 overs to win the title. Australia have won the title previously in 2010, 2012 & 2014.

Australia’s captain Alyssa Healy (daughter of legendary Australian wicket keeper Ian Healy), emerged the highest run getter of the tournament. She smashed 225 runs in 5 innings at an astounding average of 56. Australia also dominated the bowling charts, Ashleigh Gardner & Megan Schutt took 10 wickets in the tournament ahead of Ellyse Perry who took 9 scalps.

How did Team India fare? For India, the campaign ended in the semi finals where they lost to England. There were plenty of bright spots in the tournament for India like Captain Harmanpreet Kaur’s whirlwind hundred against New Zealand in the opening game. India looked like a great side and is a very good sign for the future.

What’s next? 3 Indians feature in an All Stars team chosen by the ICC or the International Cricket Council. The team is made up of players who’ve performed the best in the tournament. Indian Captain Harmanpreet Kaur has been chosen as the captain of the All Star team. Opening batter Smriti Mandhana and Poonam Yadav also feature in the honorary team.

Written by: Yash Chawla. Yash is former Anchor of NDTV with over 9 years of experience as a sports journalist.

Spread the love
No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.