India Election Results 2019

Who won the Lok Sabha elections in India? The results are in, and the Bharatiya Janata Party, the current Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s party, has won a majority of seats in the Lok Sabha, to win the Indian General Elections. It did even better than in the 2014 General Elections.

Here are the results:

Credit: Election Commission Of India and BBC

What happens next? The BJP and its partners, who make up the NDA or National Democratic Alliance, are deciding who will fill the various ministerial positions in the new government. Mr. Modi will be re-appointed Prime Minister on May 30, 2019.

Written by: Sunaina Murthy